• Last.fm
  • YouTube
  • Bandcamp
  • Instagram


'There Is Light Between Us / Take Shelter' Package Deal
  • Laviniapdwebstore
  • Sheath025 swirl website
  • Sheath043 splat webstore
  • Sheath043 halved webstore
  • Sheath043 swirl webstore

Look for similar items


'There Is Light Between Us / Take Shelter' Package Deal


Out of Stock

This package deal allows you to bundle up Lavinia's 2010 debut 12" There Is Light Between Us with their new 7", Take Shelter. Choose which color of the 7" you'd like!

"Following their harrowing 2010 debut "There Is Light Between Us", Lavinia returns with their follow-up 7", "Take Shelter". Once again featuring Nate Shumaker (ex-Eksi Ekso, On Fire) on guitar and vocals and Alex Mihm (Eksi Ekso) on drums, this time Philip Jamieson (Caspian) moves to guitar instead of bass, and John Helmig (formerly of Everdown, Crown Vict) plays bass. The two new songs push even further into the bleak territory explored on the debut, with a heavier backdrop this time around. The band starts things out with the beautifully haunting "New Blood", as the shimmering guitars gradually ascend into crunchier, nastier terrain before subsiding to allow space for Shumakers refrained vocal passages, then culminating in the heaviest sound the band has ever achieved. Then you're greeted with the sorrow of "Halo", which builds up at a dreamy pace before it chugs and crushes like a forest of falling and colliding trees, a driving close-out to the 7". In addition to his bass duties, Helmig also recorded the songs at Verse Media in Manchester, NH, then they were sent off to Jason Martin (Starflyer 59) for mastering. "Take Shelter" will be released worlwide both digitally and on limited edition vinyl May 28th via The Mylene Sheath."

Package Deal