• Last.fm
  • YouTube
  • Bandcamp
  • Instagram


Of Great Sorrow LP
  • Sheath055 cvr art store
  • Sheath055splatterstore
  • Sheath055cicstore
  • Sheath055swirlstore

Look for similar items


Of Great Sorrow LP



Out of Stock


Stream It:

The sophomore LP from Seattle, WA's Heiress. The packaging is straight up ridiculous. Artwork design & layout by Demian Johnston, the heavy, 20pt stock jackets have a metallic, brassy 5th color that pops. They look so good, no bullshittin'. Vinyl colors came out great as well. And the tunes crush, duh. All the details can be found below...

1. Of Great Sorrow
2. Dehumaned
3. Held
4. Blading
5. Dismalist
6. Old Haunts
7. Hover
8. Lashings
9. Silent Hooves
10. Just Two Figures

Pressing Info:
- 25 test presses w/spray-painted jackets (hand-numbered)
- 100 Clear Vinyl w/Grey Center & Gold Splatter
- 100 Translucent Pilsner Vinyl w/Gold Center
- 300 Gold/Silver Swirl

"Following their critically acclaimed debut full length Early Frost (2013, Deathwish Inc.), Seattle, WA’s Heiress is now prepared to unleash their chilling sophomore effort, Of Great Sorrow. The album contains 10 crushing tracks that grab you by the throat and squeeze for 44 jarring minutes.

For those uninitiated, Heiress is an American rock band from Seattle, WA featuring former members of Himsa, Undertow, Jough Dawn Baker and Shift. The group performs a cathartic blend of hardcore punk and atmospheric post-metal. They formed in Seattle, WA in 2006 originally with vocalist Adam Paysse, the co-founder of Rome Plow Records. Then in December 2008 John Pettibone, formerly of many Seattle-area bands including Himsa and Undertow, took over Paysse’s place as lead vocalist. With this lineup, Heiress recorded a five-song self-titled EP and self-released it in 2009. Soon after, in 2010, the band signed to Deathwish Inc., an independent hardcore record label that was co-founded by Jacob Bannon of Converge. The group’s first release through the label was a split 7" with Narrows. In mid-2011, legendary producer Jack Endino (Nirvana, Mudhoney, Soundgraden) produced and engineered new Heiress tracks at Soundhouse Studios. Endino also remixed two previously recorded Heiress songs which were released as the Naysayer EP in 2012. The single featured artwork by Demian Johnston, who previously played with Pettibone in Undertow and Nineironspitfire, and was positively received by Alternative Press (4/5). Ten of the remaining tracks from this session became Heiress’ full-length debut album titled Early Frost, released by Deathwish Inc. in early 2013 and received an 8/10 rating from Decibel Magazine.

That brings us to the present tense and their bone-shattering new full length, Of Great Sorrow, which was recorded with Tad Doyle at Witch Ape Studio (YOB, Lesbian, TAD) and set for release on November 18th via The Mylene Sheath (Pelican, Caspian, Junius). The album was mastered by Chris Hanzsek (Soundgarden, Melvins, Screaming Trees) with artwork once again handled by Demian Johnston. Never content standing still, the band is already tracking a third album with producer Matt Bayles, set for release in 2015, even as the world may not be done absorbing the sonic explosion of Of Great Sorrow for years to come. The time of Heiress is now, and they’re going for the throat."

Limited to
Test Press: 25 | Clear/Grey w/splatter: 100 | Pilsner/Gold: 100 | Gold/Grey Swirl: 300
Vinyl Packaging
20pt stock jackets w/metallic 5th spot color
Vinyl Manufacturer
Pirates Press / GZ
Artwork Design
Demian Johnston